Gieseke Gold Award PDF Print E-mail

Gieseke Gold Award

Gayle Gieseke joined the Steamers' team of host families prior to the 2003 season when she welcomed Evan Englebrook (2004 8th Round, Houston Astros) from Shippensburg University (PA) into her home for the summer. She served as a host mom from 2003 until 2005, and became a member of the board of directors in 2004 and accepted the job of treasurer and bookkeeper for the organization. She also generously donated her time working in the Steamers office several days a week coordinating the host family effort and scheduling post-game meals for the players at Hicks Field. She will be remembered sitting in her chair near the souvenir stand at Hicks Field speaking to all who walked by, thanking them for coming to support the Steamers and encouraging them to come back. Gayle passed away unexpectedly in the fall of 2006 and the Steamers created an annual award in her honor. The Gieseke Gold Award is given to the most outstanding player and person at the end of each season.

Previous Winners:dsc03948

2007: Brian Conley, outfielder, Towson University (MD)

2008: Luke Demko, pitcher, University of Rhode Island 

2009: Todd Roth, pitcher, University of Pennsylvania

2010: Brian Billigen, outfielder, Cornell University (NY)

2011: Joey Wendle, second baseman, West Chester University (PA)

2012: Jordan Egan, pitcher, Norfolk State University (VA)

2013: Nick Miller, first baseman/pitcher, University of Northern Colorado

2014: Ryan Raslowsky, second baseman, California State University-Northridge

2014 Winner 2B Ryan Raslowsky with General Manager Kevin Whitehead